Assembly and local election results
Assembly and local election results

The following was the final position of the parties and their share of the first preference vote:

  DUP       38 (+2)   30.0% (-0.1%)
  SF        29 (+1)   26.9% (+0.8%)
  SDLP      14 (-2)   14.2% (-1.0%)
  UUP       16 (-2)   13.2% (-1.7%)
  Alliance   8 (+1)    7.7% (+2.5%)
  TUV        1 (+1)    2.5% (+2.5%)
  Other      2 (-1)    5.4% (+2.9%)

The following are the candidates elected to the Stormont Assembly:

Belfast East (Turnout: 53.59%)

Judith Cochrane (Alliance)
Michael Copeland (UUP)
Sammy Douglas (DUP)
Chris Lyttle (Alliance)
Robin Newton (DUP)
Peter Robinson (DUP)

Belfast North (Turnout: 50.29%)

Paula Bradley (DUP)
William Humphrey (DUP)
Gerry Kelly (Sinn Féin)
Alban Maginness (SDLP)
Nelson McCausland (DUP)
Carál Ní Chuilín (Sinn Féin)

Belfast South (Turnout: 52.42%)

Anna Lo (Alliance)
Alex Maskey (Sinn Féin)
Conall Patrick McDevitt (SDLP)
Alasdair McDonnell (SDLP)
Michael McGimpsey (UUP)
Jimmy Spratt (DUP)

Belfast West (Turnout: 57.90%)

Alex Attwood (SDLP)
Paul Maskey (Sinn Féin)
Fra McCann (Sinn Féin)
Jennifer McCann (Sinn Féin)
Sue Ramsey (Sinn Féin)
Pat Sheehan (Sinn Féin)

East Antrim (Turnout: 47.76%)

Roy Beggs (UUP)
Stewart Dickson (Alliance)
David Hilditch (DUP)
Oliver McMullan (Sinn Féin)
Alastair Ross (DUP)
Sammy Wilson (DUP)

East Derry (Turnout: 54.12%)

Gregory Campbell (DUP)
John Dallat (SDLP)
David McClarty (Independent)
Adrian McQuillan (DUP)
Cathal O’hOisin (Sinn Féin)
George Robinson (DUP)

Fermanagh & South Tyrone (Turnout: 68.96%)

Tom Elliott (UUP)
Phil Flanagan (Sinn Féin)
Arlene Foster (DUP)
Michelle Gildernew (Sinn Féin)
Sean Lynch (Sinn Féin)
Maurice Morrow (DUP)

Foyle (Turnout: 56.61%)

Martina Anderson (Sinn Féin)
Mark H Durkan (SDLP)
Colum Eastwood (SDLP)
William Hay (DUP)
Raymond McCartney (Sinn Féin)
Pat Ramsey (SDLP)

Lagan Valley (Turnout: 53.07%)

Jonathan Craig (DUP)
Paul Givan (DUP)
Brenda Hale (DUP)
Trevor Lunn (Alliance)
Basil McCrea (UUP)
Edwin Poots (DUP)

Mid Ulster (Turnout: 65.35%)

Francie Molloy (Sinn Féin)
Ian McCrea (DUP)
Patsy McGlone (SDLP)
Martin McGuinness (Sinn Féin)
Michelle O’Neill (Sinn Féin)
Sandra Overend (UUP)

Newry & Armagh (Turnout: 61.34%)

Dominic Bradley (SDLP)
Mickey Brady (Sinn Féin)
Cathal Boylan (Sinn Féin)
William Irwin (DUP)
Danny Kennedy (UUP)
Conor Murphy (Sinn Féin)

North Antrim (Turnout: 54.82%)

Jim Allister (TUV)
Paul Frew (DUP)
David McIlveen (DUP)
Daithí Gerard McKay (Sinn Féin)
Mervyn Storey (DUP)
Robin Swann (UUP)

North Down (Turnout: 45.89%)

Steven Agnew (Green Party)
Leslie Cree (UUP)
Gordon Dunne (DUP)
Alex Easton (DUP)
Stephen Farry (Alliance)
Peter James Weir (DUP)

South Antrim (Turnout: 50.06%)

Trevor Clarke (DUP)
David R J Ford (Alliance)
Paul Girvan (DUP)
Danny Kinahan (UUP)
Pam Lewis (DUP)
Mitchel McLaughlin (Sinn Féin)

South Down (Turnout: 58.11%)

Willie Clarke (Sinn Féin)
John McCallister (UUP)
Karen McKevitt (SDLP)
Margaret Ritchie (SDLP)
Caitríona Ruane (Sinn Féin)
Jim Wells (DUP)

Strangford (Turnout: 48.55%)

Jonathan Bell (DUP)
Simon Hamilton (DUP)
Kieran McCarthy (Alliance)
Michelle McIlveen (DUP)
David McNarry (UUP)
Mike Nesbitt (UUP)

Upper Bann (Turnout: 55.34%)

Sydney Anderson (DUP)
Joanne Dobson (UUP)
Sam Gardiner (UUP)
Dolores Kelly (SDLP)
Stephen Moutray (DUP)
John O’Dowd (Sinn Féin)

West Tyrone (Turnout: 64.02%)

Michaela Boyle (Sinn Féin)
Thomas Buchanan (DUP)
Joe Byrne (SDLP)
Pat Doherty (Sinn Féin)
Ross Hussey (UUP)
Barry McElduff (Sinn Féin)


The following Sinn Fein candidates were elected to Six-County councils:

Antrim Borough Council: Anne-Marie Logue, Noel Maguire, Anthony Brady, Henry Cushinan

Ballymena Borough Council: Monica Digney, Paul Maguire

Ballymoney Borough Council: Philip McGuigan, Cathal McLaughlin, Anita Cavlan

Belfast City Council: Deirdre Hargey, Mairtin O’Muilleoir, Conor Maskey, Matt Garrett, Emma Groves, Caomhin Mac Giolla Mhin, Gerard O’Neill, Gerard McCabe, Danny Lavery, Janice Astin, Jim McVeigh, Steven Corr, Tom Hartley, Niall O Donnghaile, Tierna Cunningham, Mary-Ellen Campbell

Larne Borough Council: Oliver McMullan

Moyle District Council: Cara McShane, Noreen McAllister, Margaret McKillop

Newtownabbey Borough Council: Marie Mackessy, Gerard O’Reilly

Armagh City and District Council: Roy McCartney, Cathy Rafferty, Noel Sheridan, Mary Doyle, Gerard White, Darren McNally

Craigavon Borough Council: Jonathan McGibbon, Thomas O’Connor, Mark O’Dowd, Gemma McKenna, Paul Duffy, Noel McGeown, Mairead O’Dowd, Liam Mackle

Banbridge District Council: Brendan Curran, Paul Gribben

Down District Council: Willie Clarke, Eamonn McConvey, Liam Johnston, Stephen Burns, Mickey Coogan

Newry and Mourne District Council: Pat McGinn, Turlough Murphy, Sean Doran, Mick Murphy, Anthony Flynn, Packie McDonald, Mickey Ruane, Charlie Casey, Peter Kearney, Valerie Harte, Brendan Curran, Colman Burns, Terry Hearty, Jimmy McCreesh

Fermanagh District Council: Phil Flanagan, Ruth Lynch, Brian McCaffrey, Thomas O’Reilly, Sean Lynch, Frankie Rice, Debbie Coyle, Sheamus Greene, Barry Doherty

Coleraine Borough Council: Ciaran Archibald

Derry City Council: Paul Fleming, Maeve McLaughlin, Lynn Fleming, Kevin Campbell, Patricia Logue, Michael Cooper, Gearoid MacLochlain, Colin Kelly, Anthony Hassan, Elisha McLaughlin

Limavady Borough Council: Brenda Chivers, Sean McGlinchey, Tony McCaul, Anne Brolly, Dermott Nicholl, Cathal McLaughlin

Magherafelt District Council: Ian Milne, Peter Bateson, Catherine Elattar, Sean McPeake, Caoimhe Scullion, Deborah Ni Shiadhail, Brian McGuigan, Sean Kerr, Kate McEldowney

Cookstown District Council: Pearse McAleer, Michael McIvor, John McNamee, Ciaran McElhone, Sean Clarke, Cathal Mallaghan

Dungannon and South Tyrone Borough Council: Mickey Gillespie, Joe O’Neill, Sean McGuigan, Phelim Gildernew, Bronwyn McGahan, Larry McLarnon, Dessie Donnelly, Padraig Quinn

Omagh District Council: Sean Clarke, Declan McAleer, Sean Begley, Glenn Campbell, Frankie Donnelly, Ann Quinn, Peter Kelly, Sean Donnelly, Anne Marie Fitzgerald, Sorcha McAnespy

Strabane District Council: Kieran McGuire, Ruairi McHugh, Dan Kelly, Michelle McMackin, Maoliosa McHugh, Brian McMahon, Jay McCauley, Karina Carlin


* The following independent republicans were also elected: Padraig McShane (Moyle), Davy Hyland (Newry and Mourne), Bernice Swift (Fermanagh), Barry Monteith (Dungannan and South Tyrone)

Urgent Appeal

Despite increasing support for Irish freedom and unity, we need your help to overcome British and unionist intransigence. We can end the denial of our rights in relation to Brexit, the Irish language, a border poll and legacy issues, with your support.

Please support IRN now to help us continue reporting and campaigning for our national rights. Even one pound a month can make a big difference for us.

Your contribution can be made with a credit or debit card by clicking below. A continuing monthly donation of £2 or more will give you full access to this site. Thank you. Go raibh míle maith agat.

© 2011 Irish Republican News