Ousting the corrupt elite

Sinn Fein opened its election campaign on Sunday with a strong attack by party president Gerry Adams on corruption in the political system in the 26 Counties.

Mr Adams pointed to deep-seated anger among voters about the outgoing government and the other establishment parties, who he said were part of a deeply corrupt ruling elite.

“The economy is in crisis because of political choices being made by a deeply corrupt political elite operating within a flawed political system. And the political choices that they made were bad political choices,” Mr Adams said.

“There is deep distress out there. The people know the system doesn’t serve them, and that makes it a corrupt system.”

“There are two Irelands,” he said. “There is the Ireland of the elites and the mohair suits and the Galway tent and all that came out of Taca (Fianna Fail’s controversial fundraising club), .. and there is the other Ireland - which is of the people who care, and are decent and fair.”

Mr Adams was speaking after a number of prominent property developers, bankers and the racing industry were also revealed as key sources of financial support for the leading opposition party, Fine Gael.

The launch of the Sinn Fein election campaign in the National Gallery in Dublin took place under the theme ‘There is a Better Way’ and was attended by its 41 candidates in 38 constituencies.

Mr Adams said Sinn Fein would put those on middle to low incomes first, reversing the budget cuts and abolishing the universal social charge. It would also cut ministerial salaries by 40 per cent and TDs’ salaries by 20 per cent.

“Every TD elected for Sinn Fein means a stronger voice for citizens, for working families, for the unemployed and those struggling to make ends meet,” he said.

“The more Sinn Fein TDs elected the louder the voice for those they represent.”

On Friday, Mr Adams launched his own campaign to be elected as a TD for Louth, saying there had never been a greater need for republican politics.

During his address to the crowd Mr Adams quoted from James Connolly and also hunger striker Bobby Sands.

He said every generation of republicans had to act “in their own time - and in 2011 we act not as they did in 1916”.

Mr Adams was introduced to the crowd at the Fairways Hotel, Dundalk,by Donegal South West deputy Pearse Doherty who said that in the next three weeks, “the people of this state have a serious chance to change the direction this country is going in and by god do we need a change of direction”.

“This election is not about faces or political dynasties but what you can offer people on the ground, what you can do for people who are suffering,” he said.

Outgoing Sinn Fein deputy in Louth, Arthur Morgan, told the crowd that Gerry Adams “is a republican leader, perhaps the most influential since Wolfe Tone”.

Mr Adams will add a huge dynamic to the Dublin parliament and could be part of “changing the course of Irish political history”, Mr Morgan said.

The following is the full list of Sinn Fein candidates:

John Cassin - Carlow/Kilkenny
Kathleen Funchion - Carlow/Kilkenny

Caoimhghin O Caolain TD - Cavan/Monaghan
Kathryn Reilly - Cavan/Monaghan

Sandra McLellan - Cork East
Jonathan O’Brien - Cork North-Central
Des O’ Grady - Cork North-West
Chris O’Leary - Cork South-Central
Paul Hayes - Cork South-West

Padraig MacLochlainn - Donegal North-East
Pearse Doherty TD - Donegal South-West

Sean Crowe - Dublin South West
Rudhan Mac Aodhan - Dublin South East
Aengus O Snodaigh TD - Dublin South-Central
Eoin O Broin - Dublin Mid-West
Paul Donnelly - Dublin West
Mary Lou McDonald - Dublin Central
Helen McCormack - Dublin North Central
Larry O’Toole - Dublin North East
Dessie Ellis - Dublin North West
Sorcha Nic Cormaic - Dublin South

Dermot Connolly - Galway East
Trevor O Clochartaigh - Galway West

Martin Ferris TD - Kerry North/West Limerick

Martin Kelly - Kildare North
Jason Turner - Kildare South

Brian Stanley - Laois/Offaly

Paul Hogan - Longford/Westmeath

Maurice Quinlivan - Limerick City

Gerry Adams - Louth

Therese Ruane - Mayo
Rose Conway-Walsh - Mayo

Michael Gallagher - Meath East
Peadar Toibin - Meath West

Martin Kenny - Roscommon/South Leitrim
Michael Colreavy - Sligo/North Leitrim

Seamus Morris - Tipperary North
Michael Browne - Tipperary South

David Cullinane - Waterford

Anthony Kelly - Wexford

John Brady - Wicklow/East Carlow

We have a favour to ask

We want to keep our publication as available as we can, so we need to ask for your help. Irish Republican News takes time, money and hard work to produce. But we do it because we believe it makes a difference. If everyone who reads our website helps fund it, our future would be much more secure.

For as little as £1, you can support Irish Republican News – and it only takes a minute. Thank you.

© 2011 Irish Republican News