Assembly election candidates
Assembly election candidates

The full list of candidates in the Belfast Assembly election on 7 March is published below. The names are listed alphabetically in all 18 constituencies.


Anderson John IND
Bailey Mark GP
Beggs Roy UUP
Dawson Thomas DUP
Dickson Stewart AP
Dunn Mark UUP
Hilditch David DUP
Lewis Tim CON
McMullan Oliver SF
Neeson Sean AP
O’Connor Daniel SDLP
Robinson Ken UUP
Robinson Thomas UKUP
Wilson Sammy DUP


Agnew Steven GP
Bell Joseph WP
Black Thomas SOC
Browne Wallace DUP
Chambers Glyn CON
Copeland Michael UUP
Empey Reg UUP
George Rainbow MPH
Long Naomi AP
Muldoon Mary SDLP
Newton Robin DUP
O’Donnghaile Niall SF
Purvis Dawn PUP
Robinson Peter DUP
Rodgers Jim UUP


Beattie Orla SDLP
Brolly Francie SF
Campbell Gregory DUP
Cubitt Joseph UKUP
Dallat John SDLP
Fitzpatrick Bernard AP
Hillis Norman UUP
Leonard Billy SF
McClarty David UUP
McGonigle Michael IND
McQuillan Adrian DUP
Moison Phillippe GP
Robinson George DUP
Stevenson Edwin UUP


Currie Vincent SDLP
Donaldson Kenneth UUP
Elliott Tom UUP
Foster Arlene DUP
Gallagher Tommy SDLP
Gildernew Michelle SF
Leonard Allan AP
Lynch Sean SF
McCartney Robert UKUP
McGeough Gerry IND
McHugh Gerry SF
McManus Michael IND
Morrow Maurice DUP


Anderson Martina SF
Boyle Yvonne AP
Bradley Mary SDLP
Corry Adele GP
Durkan Mark SDLP
Fleming Lynn SF
Frazer William IND
Hay William DUP
McCann Eamonn SEA
McCartney Raymond SF
Munce Peter UUP
O’Hara Peggy IND
Quigley Helen SDLP
Ramsey Pat SDLP


Bell Billy UUP
Butler Paul SF
Craig David DUP
Crawford Ronnie UUP
Donaldson Jeffrey DUP
Farrell Marietta SDLP
Givan Paul DUP
Johnston Neil CON
Lunn Trevor AP
Magee John WP
McCartney Robert UKUP
McCrea Basil UUP
Poots Edwin DUP
Rogan Michael GP


Armstrong William UUP
Forde Elizabeth DUP
Hutchinson Harry IND
Lagan Kathleen SDLP
Marshall Margaret AP
McCrea William DUP
McGlone Patrick SDLP
McGuinness Martin SF
McLaughlin Brendan IND
Millar Walter UKUP
Molloy Francis SF
O’Neill Michelle SF


Berry Paul IND
Boylan Cathal SF
Bradley Dominic SDLP
Brady Mickey SF
Frazer William IND
Haughey Sharon SDLP
Hendron Maire AP
Hyland Davy IND
Irwin William DUP
Kennedy Danny UUP
Morgan Arthur GP
Murphy Conor SF


Black Orla SDLP
Coulter Robert UUP
Cubitt Lyle UKUP
Dunlop Jayne AP
Gregg James IND
McGlinchey Paul IND
McKay Daithi SF
Nelson Deirdre DUP
O’Loan Declan SDLP
Paisley Ian DUP
Paisley Ian Jnr DUP
Storey Mervyn DUP
Swann Robert UUP


Cobain Fred UUP
Convery Pat SDLP
Dodds Nigel DUP
Emerson Peter GP
George Rainbow MPH
Humphrey William DUP
Kelly Gerard SF
Lavery John WP
Maginness Alban SDLP
McCartney Robert UKUP
McCausland Nelson DUP
McCord Raymond IND
McCullough Thomas AP
Ni Chuilin Caral SF


Carter Christopher IND
Chambers Alan IND
Cree Robin UUP
Easton Alexander DUP
Farry Stephen AP
Graham Robert DUP
Leslie James CON
Logan William SDLP
Martin Elaine PUP
McCartney Robert UKUP
McFarland Alan UUP
Page Deaglan SF
Rowan Brian IND
Smith Marion UUP
Weir Peter DUP
Wilson Brian GP


Burns Thomas SDLP
Burnside David UUP
Clarke Trevor DUP
Delaney Marcella WP
Ford David AP
Kinahan Daniel de Burgh UUP
Lucas Mel DUP
McCartney Robert UKUP
McClelland Noreen SDLP
McCrea William DUP
McLaughlin Mitchel SF
Nicholl Stephen UUP
O’Brien Stephen CON
Whitcroft Pete GP


Barbour James SOC
Birnie Esmond UUP
Cooke Brenda GP
George Rainbow MPH
Hanna Carmel SDLP
Hoey David UKUP
Lo Anna AP
Lomas Roger CON
Lynn Patrick WP
Maskey Alex SF
McDonnell Alasdair SDLP
McGimpsey Michael UUP
Park Andrew PUP
Smyth Charles PROC
Spratt Jimmy DUP
Stalford Christopher DUP
Stoker Bob UUP
Wilson Geoffrey IND


Bowles Peter CON
Bradley PJ SDLP
Burns William DUP
Carr Michael SDLP
Clarke William SF
Cunningham Martin IND
Curran Malachi LAB
Griffin David AP
McCallister John UUP
McConvey Eamonn SF
Mussen Ciaran GP
Reilly Henry UKIP
Ritchie Margaret SDLP
Ruane Caitriona SF
Wells Jim DUP
Wharton Frederick UKUP


Boyle Joe SDLP
Carson Angus UUP
Ennis George UKUP
Gregg David IND
Hamilton Simon DUP
Henderson Michael UUP
Kennedy Dermot SF
Little Robert CON
McCarthy Kieran AP
McIlveen Michelle DUP
McNarry David UUP
Robinson Iris DUP
Shannon Richard DUP
Sim Stephanie GP
Wilson Cedric IND


Calvert David IND
Corry Helen GP
Fry David CON
Gardiner Samuel UUP
Hatch George UUP
Kelly Dolores SDLP
McAleenan Patrick SDLP
McCrum John (Junior) DUP
McQuaid Sheila AP
Moutray Stephen DUP
O’Dowd John SF
Peeples Suzanne IND
Savage George UUP
Simpson David DUP
Toman Barry IND
Ward Desmond SF


Adams Gerry SF
Attwood Alexander SDLP
Dodds Diane DUP
George Rainbow MPH
Lowry John WP
Maskey Paul SF
McCann Fra SF
McCann Jennifer SF
McGuinness Daniel AP
Mitchell Sean PBP
Ramsey Sue SF
Taylor Geraldine IND
Walsh Margaret SDLP
West Louis UUP


Bresland Allan DUP
Buchanan Thomas DUP
Deehan Josephine SDLP
Deeny Kieran IND
Doherty Pat SF
Hussey Derek UUP
McCartney Robert UKUP
McElduff Barry SF
McGill Claire SF
McMenamin Eugene SDLP
O’Neill Joseph IND
Shields Seamus SDLP

Abbreviations and candidate totals:

DUP Democratic Unionist Party (46)
UUP Ulster Unionist Party (38)
SF Sinn Féin (37)
SDLP Social Democratic and Labour Party (35)
AP Alliance Party (18)
UKUP United Kingdom Unionist Party (13)
GP Green Party (13)
CON Conservative Party Candidate (9)
WP Workers Party (6)
MPH Make Politicians History (4)
SOC Socialist Party (Northern Ireland) (2)
PBP People Before Profit (1)
SEA Socialist Environmental Alliance (1)
LAB Labour Party of Northern Ireland (1)
UKIP United Kingdom Independence Party (1)
PROC Procapitalism (1)
IND Independent (27)

Urgent Appeal

Despite increasing support for Irish freedom and unity, we need your help to overcome British and unionist intransigence. We can end the denial of our rights in relation to Brexit, the Irish language, a border poll and legacy issues, with your support.

Please support IRN now to help us continue reporting and campaigning for our national rights. Even one pound a month can make a big difference for us.

Your contribution can be made with a credit or debit card by clicking below. A continuing monthly donation of £2 or more will give you full access to this site. Thank you. Go raibh míle maith agat.

© 2007 Irish Republican News