Irish Republican News · July 23, 2004
[Irish Republican News]

[Irish Republican News]
SF MEPs address Euro parliament

Sinn Féin’s newly elected MEPs attended have attended their first sessions in the European Parliament in Strasbourg.

Bairbre de Brun (Six Counties) and Mary Lou McDonald (Dublin) attended the inaugural session of the EU Parliament and voted in the election of the President of the EU Parliament for Francis Wurtz, leader of Sinn Féin’s group in Europe, GUE/NGL.

“Yesterday morning we made a positive contribution to the first session of the EU Parliament when we voted for the position of President of the EU Parliament,” said McDonald.

“Josep Borrell, the nominee from the Socialist grouping was elected on the first count and we wish him success as the new EU Parliament President.”

On Wednesday, the two MEPS made their first address to the Parliament during a debate on the Irish Presidency.

Speaking in both Irish and English, Ms de Brun urged the new Dutch Presidency to focus on the peace rocess in Ireland, while Ms McDonald paid tribute to Bobby Sands, saying: “As Irish republicans, following in the tradition of Bobby Sands MP, we are committed to the politics of equality, justice and freedom.”

We have a favour to ask

We want to keep our publication as available as we can, so we need to ask for your help. Irish Republican News takes time, money and hard work to produce. But we do it because we believe it makes a difference. If everyone who reads our website helps fund it, our future would be much more secure.

For as little as £1, you can support Irish Republican News – and it only takes a minute. Thank you.

© 2004 Irish Republican News