Irish Republican News · September 23, 2012
[Irish Republican News]

[Irish Republican News]
IRISH REPUBLICAN NEWS: Donegal win all-Ireland football final
Donegal win all-Ireland football final


Donegal 2-11, Mayo 0-13


Donegal have won the All-Ireland football final with considerable skill and resilience at Croke Park this afternoon, raising the Sam Maguire Cup for the first time since 1992.

Donegal had to beat the most formidable opponents, including Derry, Tyrone, Down, Kerry, Cork and Mayo, on their way to their historic victory this afternoon.

An early two-goal blast from Michael Murphy and Colm McFadden, who each scored 1-4, helped Jim McGuinness’ men lead from start to finish.

After a disastrous start, Mayo recovered from being 2-1 down after 11 minutes to pursue the Ulstermen to the end.

However, it was a bridge too far for the Connacht champions as they fell to their third All-Ireland final defeat in eight years.

Mayo shot too many wides to enable them to overhaul the northerners. As the match became a desperate scramble, Donegal’s defences held up and deprived Mayo of the goal they badly needed to set up a last-gasp chance.

It the end, it was Donegal captain Michael Murphy who was presented with the Sam Maguire.

© 2012 Irish Republican News